Live Center / Dead Center?

HBilly1022

Registered
Registered
I am new to machining and recently bought my first lathe, a King Canada 10 x 22 (same as Grizzly G0602) and have spent the last month learning / playing and working out some of the bugs. My intro lists a bunch of bugs that I have fixed so far, based on information from this site. In the process of learning I have turned a few small pieces of steel rod 1" and less plus a 3" round that I tapered over a 10" length, for an anvil I am making. At first I used a dead center in the tail stock and the 3 jaw chuck in the spindle but found that the dead center would get hot and if I put oil on it it would smoke and stink up the shop. So I bought a live center thinking that would be better but with the heavy 3" round it would wobble and no matter what I tried, I could not get it to spin on center.

Based on my reading so far, it appears that the dead center is better to use but what is used for lubrication. Does there need to be some sort of drip system to lube it or just let it get hot?

A live center has issues with runout and less secure support for a heavy workpiece. As you have found out, a dead center has issues with friction. You need to use lubrication or risk damaging the center and/or the workpiece. I usually put some oil in the pilot hole prior to seating the center. Even then, you may have to back the center out and re-lubricate from time to time.

Dead centers are also very sensitive to the seating force. You need enough force to securely seat the center but not so much as to greatly increase the friction and subsequent heating. After extended turning the workpiece can expanding length, increasing the force so checking and readjust the tailstock as work progresses is a good practice. Turning at a lower speed is also beneficial.

Welcome HBilly,