LC-30A Milling machine - Drill chuck with MT3 taper

slow-poke

Registered
Registered
Newbie here, I recently picked up an old LC-30A drill/Milling machine. It came with some tooling but not a drill chuck.

Can I use any drill chuck with a MT#3 taper or do I need to find one with a threaded end for the draw bar?

Am I better to get a good used one for example a Jacobs or a new ebay special?

Keyed or keyless?

A drill chuck with a MT3, or one with a straight shaft which fits one of your collets will all work well.

Daryl
MN

if you can find one on Ebay, look for a double grip drill chuck
they are mostly antique now, but let me tell you they work wonderfully.
i stumbled by them accidentally, but boy i'm glad i did.
they are a bit slow to use, but the grip is incomparable to modern chucks.
a jacobs chuck can be made to spin a bit, the double grip is highly unlikely to spin the same bit.
i know this may sound a bit like a public service announcement, but i really have only good things to say about them.

to be fair i can list a couple of downfalls.
the DG chucks can be large
slow to change tooling
they take up some headspace that may be needed for smaller machines

if you could find a way to get around the shortcomings, the DG's are hard to beat

in case you have not seen pictures, allow me to enlighten you

VFD 12.jpg
dgrip1-jpg.48418

dgrip3-jpg.48420

15025-dddba67bf04ce9f8cee56267413f7165.jpg

if you can use them, i'd get them!
good luck!

Hmmm,

DG chuck, interesting. I will create an ebay search.

When used in a vertical mill, is it okay to use a non-threaded (tang style) shank. Or is it necessary to have the threaded style that mates to the draw bar?

For the Morse Taper arbor for use with a drill chuck in the mill, you don't necessarily need a drawbar since a drill chuck should not be exposed to side loads. But make sure your quill has a slot for using a drift key to release the MT arbor.