Lathe Tooling

I am NOT a woodturning expert, as I've never turned a single piece of wood. But I have read about two basic techniques which require different tool geometries: cutting and scraping. That's been tucked away in the back of my head as the first things to research when I'm ready to turn wood on my metal lathe. Also the highest speed on a metal lathe is still somewhat slow for turning wood for a good finish, but for those of us without room or budget for both machines it is doable.

A common practice with building cues is using taper bars and your power feed. The only thing I will be using hss is for facing, boring and parting. Even if I were to offset the tail stock and do a conical taper I would still use a router.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

The only thing I will be using hss is for facing, boring and parting. Even if I were to offset the tail stock and do a conical taper I would still use a router.

Well, this does make a difference.

I was reading and watching some videos about the Diamond Tool holder. Did I understand correctly that they are made of cast Iron?

Has anyone tried to make one of these?
LOTS of plans on the net. Just search tangential tooling. Fairly easy to build, probably 3-5 hours of work, maybe a day worst case. Build vs buy is the usual trade-off; a machinist can make pretty much any tool he needs- the question is whether it's worth time time if an alternative (purchase) is available.