[How do I?] Lathe/mill A Converging, Internal Angle Deep Inside Part

knoq

Registered
Registered
Attached is a schematic I was given by a friend to lathe up for him.

What I need is essentially a cone on top of a cylinder, but cutting a 30(deg) angle deep inside the part without a cnc lathe is.... challenging (I think).

I'm familiar with the design and have made things similar before (it's a rocket, yes) but he has some interesting angles/dimensions compared to my designs which usually allow me enough room to enter the nozzle-side with a boring bar and get the angle that way.

I've considered maybe a drill bit or something of that kin may exist, but no luck in my searches.

I also thought about a custom-ground form tool, but it's too large for pretty much any tool holder I could access.

I have no experience with a mill, but I do have access to one and someone who can help me.
Because of my lack of knowledge, there may be a solution there I do not see.

Note: The schematic is a cross-section, and I know it's a mess! I combined multiple views of it to compress it for the forum

jqyvKa.png

Help?
Zach

jqyvKa.png

jqyvKa.png

jqyvKa.png

jqyvKa.png

jqyvKa.png

Even on CNC that would be a challenge. Would need a 3/8" boring bar hanging out 4" Maybe in 2 pieces Screwed or welded together.

Welcome to the forum, Zach.

First, help us! What is the material you are planning to make it from? Are the four significant digits to the right of the decimal really necessary to the design? That is a tough to build part, regardless. Could you tell us what it has to do, so there might be a easier to build solution?

That's a converging-diverging nozzle, also referred to as a de Laval nozzle. High pressure gas on the left passes through it and becomes high velocity gas on the right (in the illustration posted above).