• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Guest,  We want to wish You and Your Family a Healthy, Happy Thanksgiving! Click the "X" at the top right corner to remove this notice)
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

4

[Newbie] Lathe CNC - No Compound?

3
Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!
10

angelfj1

Active User
Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
110
Likes
10
#1
I'm considering a cnc conversion of my Grizzly, G0602. I have noticed that after conversion. some folks operate the machine without a compound. Is this a common practice and what are the pros and cons.

Thanks, Frank
 

Keith Foor

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2015
Messages
278
Likes
203
#2
There is no use for a compound on a CNC lathe. The controller runs both the X and Y axis. Now if you are gonna set the lathe up for manual functionality having the compound may still be a good idea. But you are gonna need to make sure that it's put in the same spot every time for use with the CNC function. The CNC controller is not going to know where the tool bit is if you move the compound and therefore the tool bit.
 

bpratl

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2012
Messages
940
Likes
53
#3
I eliminated the top compound with a solid 6075 Aluminum block and made it .100" shorter for the proper setup of a AXA QCTP. Bob
 

HEAVYMETAL87

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
47
Likes
3
#4
This is going to sound kinda silly- but would a rotary table with some... modification to the plate work as a ATC post on a CNC lathe?
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
6,427
Likes
4,151
#5
This is going to sound kinda silly- but would a rotary table with some... modification to the plate work as a ATC post on a CNC lathe?
Don't know why not, anything is possible if you're creative enough.:)
 

HEAVYMETAL87

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
47
Likes
3
#6
The only concern that I had was that the force of the piece spinning would be too much for the worm gear in the rotary table.
 

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Director
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
6,427
Likes
4,151
#7
You would want mechanically lock it into position once it indexed.
 

Wreck™Wreck

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2014
Messages
1,918
Likes
1,463
#10
There would be no point in having a compound on a NC lathe, all tapers may be interpolated by the control.
 

Glenn Goodlett

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
#11
I wondered about this too. Thanks for the info.

Would a spacer made of a block of steel be better than aluminum due to thermal expansion and rigidity or does it matter?
 

T Bredehoft

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
2,137
Likes
1,475
#12
Wouldn't think it would matter. First off, what amount of temp change would the block be subject to? Thermal expansion is figured in degree of change times a constant for the metal involved, Steel is .0000066, Aluminum is .00001 One inch thick aluminum would expand .0001 for every ten degrees of change, steel, .000066 for the same. The block of steel/aluminum on the top of the crossfeed isn't going to change all that much.
 
6
5 [7] 7