Large-ish bore dividing head

wildo

Registered
Registered
Can anyone recommend a dividing head that I can use a collet to pass through up to 1.250" rod through? I have no experience with dividing heads, and I don't quite understand how things mount to them. Saying that- I'd be ok with holding the work in a 3 jaw as well, but I still want to be able to pass through stock up to a 1.25"

One part of machining that I'm still finding shocking is just how much material is wasted in work holding. I'd like to try to reduce this by NOT needing to cut off my material twice (or three times- or more) longer than what I'll need for the part. If I ever get good enough to spring for the super fancy materials like timascus, mokume, or dimascus where a 12" bar can cost more than $1000, then this will be absolutely imperative. With that material, the part off along is literally $50 down the drain.

But even for now- my 12" long bar of 1" diameter tellurium copper set me back $50. I'd like to get ten $5 parts out of it rather than three $17 parts!
______

For what it's worth- I'm aware of tailstocks for dividing heads. Perhaps I'm thinking about things wrong and using a chuck/tailstock is the correct answer to my question. The problem though is that for what I want to do, I think I will need to mount the dividing head at a 45 degree angle to either x or y axis because I want to mill some 45* slits equally spaced around the rod. For that reason, I figured that working near the dividing head chuck would be the only option rather than at the tailstock end.

[EDIT]- Oh, and it has to fit on my Millrite table which is 8" wide.

Last edited: