King-Way Scraping Class

rls1160

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone,

I recently attended Richard King's October 2023 scraping course in Cottage Grove, MN. I have acquired several older machines that are in need of some reconditioning. Since I am a novice machinist I was looking for information on machine rebuilding. I came across some You-Tube videos on machine rebuilding that lead to hand and power scraping. I had intended to take his July 2023 but my schedule didn't allow me to get away for the week.

Since returning from the week long class I wanted to share my thoughts and a few pics. Typically students bring along a person item that they want to scrape or get some feedback on. I brought the saddle and table from my TML by Harig surface grinder and a tabletop cast iron scraped surface plate. After I singed up for the class I had some doubts about whether the skill of scrapping was going to be something I could actually apply in my shop. Well not only did I discover the value of scraping but I got a solid overview and understanding of how machines work, how to test for various inaccuracies, the tools and equipment used in making evaluations and finally the skills and practice required to hand and power scrape as well as hand of power flaking.