Just Starting My Bridgeport Rebuild

modela

Active User
Registered
LatheandMillPix008-Copy.jpg

I am about ready to rebuild this J1 Bridgeport after years in storage. To date I have cleaned it up, replaced the motor bearings and brushes. I fired it up with the rebuilt motor and still have some noise in the head. What should be my procedure for rebuilding the head. I bought a book from H&W but want to know what parts generally need to be replaced.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

LatheandMillPix008-Copy.jpg

I'm no expert but if I were you and had a running BP before I started rebuilding I would run it a while putting it through it's paces to see what all might be ailing it such as spindle bearings, does the quill operate smoothly, quill power feed, Some things you can do without removing the head also.

Good luck and take lots of notes & pictures

I'm no expert but if I were you and had a running BP before I started rebuilding I would run it a while putting it through it's paces to see what all might be ailing it such as spindle bearings, does the quill operate smoothly, quill power feed, Some things you can do without removing the head also.

Good luck and take lots of notes & pictures

I will give that a try. Everything seems to work okay but there is bearing noise most notably at higher speeds.

Jim

View attachment 37372

I am about ready to rebuild this J1 Bridgeport after years in storage. To date I have cleaned it up, replaced the motor bearings and brushes. I fired it up with the rebuilt motor and still have some noise in the head. What should be my procedure for rebuilding the head. I bought a book from H&W but want to know what parts generally need to be replaced.

Thanks in advance,

Jim