I've got a question but don't know if I can explain it.

terryw123

Registered
Registered
I'm not very good at explaining or describing what I want to do but I will try. I have a lathe and I have a special devise I want to make for it. It is a big/long job that will last maybe a year or more (off and on), for a customer, and if I can make this work it will be a lot faster. It is a combo cutter and tool post grinder. I will cut from one side and grind from the back side (not at the same time). For talking we will say I have a 3 inch diameter shaft about 2 ft long. It is furnished by the customer and I think some special alloy. I've tried turning it and there is no problem turning it. I don't have to grind the full 24 inches, but 3-4 spots at different diameters.

Anyways, I have to have it ground to about 2 1/2 inches in diameter when done. What I want to do is cut the bulk of it off with a regular cutter down to about 2.510+- or there about and then grind the last few thousandths off with the tool post grinder on another pass.

My problem, and I don't know how/if I can do it with the Chinese DRO. I am only using the x axis (cross feed) and I want the dro to read the rough cutting dimension, then just push a button or 2 and switch the dro readout to the tool post grinder position. Then switch back on the next shaft. Can this be done with the DRO?

Last edited:
So you will advance the cross slide in one direction to make the rough cut, then go the other direction to grind? Interesting.

Here's a thought - (haven't tried this myself, obviously):

Find a cheap DRO where the scales can be cut to length.
Cut the X and Y scales to the same length, and mount them both to the cross-slide, but mount one in the usual way and one backwards, so that as one "axis" counts up the other counts down.
Touch off with your cutter, set the forward axis and rough cut to your 2.510" dimension.