It's a good day

rowjr1

Registered
Registered
I have been lurking here for a while soaking up as much info as I can. I began researching lathes and mills about a year or so ago and it didn't take long to decide on Precision Matthews when the time came. Well last week it was time, I ordered a 1236 with the preferred package and a PM 932PDF, it took only 9 days to get them delivered. While I have no machining experience, I can weld OK and have built a lot of stuff over the years ( UPS driver even asked if I could weld aluminum...told him yes but it wouldn't be pretty). Every time I take on a new project I would think if I just had a mill or a lathe, I could do this or that. I mean why go buy a set of gate hinges for 8 bucks at a store 20 minutes away when you can spend 27 bucks on material and spend 2 days making them yourself? Why?, Because you can...and they will be exactly what you want. I am looking forward to learning how to use these machines, and even more, figuring out ways to get stuff done. I am sure I will be asking questions with obvious answers from time to time so please bear with me. Here are a few pics of delivery of my new twins. Time to get them set up and cleaned.

UPS.jpg

Delivery.jpg

Pallets.jpg

Lathe.jpg

Lathe and mill.jpg

I mean why go buy a set of gate hinges for 8 bucks at a store 20 minutes away when you can spend 27 bucks on material and spend 2 days making them yourself? Why?, Because you can...and they will be exactly what you want. I am looking forward to learning how to use these machines, and even more, figuring out ways to get stuff done. I am sure I will be asking questions with obvious answers from time to time so please bear with me.

I like your Enthusiasm, Nice looking stuff you have there...