Is the Logan 200 a good lathe?

BigKen

Registered
Registered
Hey guys,

Anyone know much about the Logan 200? Wondering if it is a good machine. Any advice is appreciated.

~BK

I'm no expert, but I think a logan 200 is a very good lathe, if it fits the size and features you need. I recently bought a 1945-6 200 that has a 820 QCGB and I was amazed at how little wear it has after all this time and how accurate it will turn. parts are available and they seem very easy to repair and restore, there are some great threads here of members restoring Logan's back to like new that show a lot about logan lathes.
mines no beauty yet, but if you want to come check it out you welcome to, seems your only about an hr away.

BK--I am one proud owner of a logan 200 lathe--I think they are a very good lathe as long as you get all the gears needed for threading and a good three jaw chuck---anyway I like mine---Dave

The Logan 200 lathes are good, and they are common as well. For their size, age, and the money, they are a great value in my opinion. Yes, they do have some weak points, but not really any worse than any other lathe. As was already mentioned, if you can find one in good shape that has a full set of change gears, you will not be disappointed. Some folks prefer a quick change gear box instead of change gears, and for convenience I must agree, but change gears do give you the advantage of being able to turn some oddball threads if the need should arise. That may not happen very often, but you might be surprised at how often it does!

I'm no expert, but I think a logan 200 is a very good lathe, if it fits the size and features you need. I recently bought a 1945-6 200 that has a 820 QCGB and I was amazed at how little wear it has after all this time and how accurate it will turn. parts are available and they seem very easy to repair and restore, there are some great threads here of members restoring Logan's back to like new that show a lot about logan lathes.