[Newbie] Imported Mini Lathe Alternative Question

jfjohn77

Registered
Registered
I'm relatively new to mini lathe thing and have been looking into them for use in Gunsmithing and Reloading. But, after looking at what is available and searching Ebay for possible used machines and such, I have found some of the older, smaller Atlas/Clausing lathes available in the same price range. I'm wondering, and I'm looking for advice from those more knowledgeable and experienced than myself, would not these units be a better alternative? I would think that these Atlas machines would be more dependable, heavier and therefore more accurate that the imports. Am I wrong? Now I'm referring to units that are not in need of a complete rebuild and missing parts, etc. There are still parts available for them and American made from a time when that meant something. I am specifically thinking of an Atlas Model 10100, 6 inch. I realize they don't have all the latest bells and whistles, variable speeds, digital speed displays, etc. But, I'm thinking of dependability and accuracy here, not convenience. If upgrades become valuable necessities, they could be added. Now what am I missing, what problems I'm I not seeing? Thanks for any help and suggestions.

Me if I where looking for that size lathe I would take an atlas-craftsman in good shape with all of the change gears over an import. Now as for gunsmithing
depends what you want to do. For rifle barrel work you will need a bigger lathe.

The phrase "mini-lathe" for many of us connotes one of the little 7" lathes (often referred to as 7x lathes). You can get them really cheap from Harbor Freight, Grizzly, etc. They all seem to come from the same factory in China, and all have the same limitations, problems, and get the same modifications. There is a seriously huge community that uses them, and if you are willing to put many hours of work into one, you can end up with a very nice machine.