If You Were To Start Over

boostin53

Registered
Registered
If you were to start over as a beginner, what lathe tooling would you fill your tool box up with?

I'm new to machining anything and starting to compile a list of stuff to buy. Did some reading across a few different boards and most lists vary a fair amount.

So lets have it, what are (in your opinion) must have items and tools to have? Such as dial indicators, parallels, HSS blanks and so on. Lets see how much money you guys (and gals?) can make me spend.

I suppose you would have to start with something to machine. Tooling requirements are driven by what you are going to do, and what equipment you are going to do it on. There are often a few different ways to "get 'er done". Can you share a bit more about what you are hoping to do?

This is actually a really good idea of a thread.

If something happened to my shop, a fire, theft, etc. (Okay, stealing a 2000 pound machine....I know....) I would probably start over with either a Taig or a Craftsman 109. never used a Taig, but they are very simple and I've never heard a bad thing about them. The 109 is a very good lathe, if you are very keen on its limits.

And then probably go for a Craigslist drill press and bench grinder, then order some 3/16" toolbit blanks for the lathe. Some drill bits and a drill chuck, files, the basics. Go from there.

Edit: I missed this was for a lathe sorry

For a mill in order of most frequently used...

#1 Safety glasses, Mitutoyo electronic caliper, deburring tool, fine file, carbide tipped scribe, Starrett combination square with 12 and 24 inch rules.
#2 Drill bits, R8 shank keyless chuck, end mills, counter sinks, center drills, ER-32 R* shank holder and collets, dial indicator with magnetic base, mill vise with parallels, T-nut clamping set
#3 T-slot stock end stop and vise mounted stock end stops, DRO, metal cutting bandsaw, taps and dies.