I picked up a few machines.

Geerbangr

Registered
Registered
First off I'd like to say hello to all. I have zero experience operating a metal lathe and a mill. I play around with cars in my shop and always need something machined in one fashion or another. I have a friend I kinda rely on that helps with some things for me but like everyone else I get tired of asking him to do things for me.

So after watching Craigslist for a while and opting out of buying anything from HF I found these two machines.

OTMT OT252700

27.5" belt lathe

Enco 20" mill/drill

These machines are supposedly brand new.

I started cleaning the lathe up first. It appears to be in nice condition. It was still covered in cosmoline I guess. I can post a picture of my lathe and then maybe start asking questions I have about operating it with success. If anyone has experience with one of these elcheapo lathes like mine and have corrected any issues the lathe comes with please feel free to share with me.

IMG_0158.JPG

So I have some questions I'm wondering about with this lathe. It came with a stack of spare gears and zero tooling nor a manual.

Everything seems to work well on it that I've tried. Different speeds, carriage runs manually and auto feed. I don't not see a way to reverse the lathe.

I've waded through YouTube videos looking for some answers on how and what with to get started using this machine. Tooling seems to be preferential to ines personal taste. What would be decent cutting bits to purchase for a beginner? I'm not looking for bits to cut parts for the space shuttle, just bits to get started learning how to properly use the machine.

The other thing that eats at me is the backlash in a few of the controls. Some of the videos I've watched claims backlash to be inevitable in lathes due to tight tolerance causing the machine to bind up. How much backlash is too much and how much is not enough? I do understand it is a low level machine so maybe I'm being to picky.