1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

I picked up a few machines.

Discussion in 'A BEGINNER'S FORUM (Learn How To Machine Here!)' started by Geerbangr, Jun 21, 2017.

1. Geerbangr

Geerbangr United States Iron Registered Member

City:
    St. c
    State:
    Ohio

-Return to Top-

First off I'd like to say hello to all. I have zero experience operating a metal lathe and a mill. I play around with cars in my shop and always need something machined in one fashion or another. I have a friend I kinda rely on that helps with some things for me but like everyone else I get tired of asking him to do things for me.

So after watching Craigslist for a while and opting out of buying anything from HF I found these two machines.

OTMT OT252700

27.5" belt lathe

Enco 20" mill/drill

These machines are supposedly brand new.

I started cleaning the lathe up first. It appears to be in nice condition. It was still covered in cosmoline I guess. I can post a picture of my lathe and then maybe start asking questions I have about operating it with success. If anyone has experience with one of these elcheapo lathes like mine and have corrected any issues the lathe comes with please feel free to share with me.

Attached Files:

brino, tweinke and scwhite like this.
  2. DAT510

DAT510 United States H-M Supporter - Premium Content H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    San Mateo
    State:
    California

-Return to Top-

Welcome to HM. Looks like a nice lathe to start with.

mikey and scwhite like this.
  3. Geerbangr

City:
    St. c
    State:
    Ohio

-Return to Top-

So I have some questions I'm wondering about with this lathe. It came with a stack of spare gears and zero tooling nor a manual.

Everything seems to work well on it that I've tried. Different speeds, carriage runs manually and auto feed. I don't not see a way to reverse the lathe.