Hydraulic Oil For Lubricating And/or Cutting?

great white

Active User
Registered
I work in the aerospace industry and have access to large quantities of h515/5606 hydraulic oil like so:

http://www.exxonmobil.com/USA-English/Aviation/PDS/GLXXENAVIEMMobil_Aero_HF.aspx.

We rotate it out of stock for disposal based on shelf life, even though its still good. Getting a couple liters for my own use is not a problem, just means we don't have to pay for disposal.

I was wondering if this would make a good headstock and apron lubricant? Its an atlas th42 with roller bearing headstock.

Or, perhaps it would make good cutting lubricant?

I can literally get so much of it I can use it as a flood coolant.....we often dispose of a couple hundred liters at a time.

Last edited:
It might be good for the headstock and apron. My Summit and a lot of others call for hydraulic oil, Shell Telus 32 is what mine calls for. I get confused with viscosities, is an API viscosity the same as an ISO. A call to a mobil dealer would clear it up. Or it would make great winter hydraulic fluid, we would switch over to Aero Shell in the winter, was easier to get the systems up and going at -40.

Greg

I have several quarts of hydraulic jack oil that I will never need for its intended use. It gets used for cutting oil on my mill with no problem. All that's needed is something to reduce friction in the cutter and to remove heat.
As far as the apron, it should be OK. I would be concerned about using it in the headstock because of the vesosity and the oil shear resistance that your lathe would call for. Also, I maybe over thinking this.

It would most likely be a good quench for hardening steel.

I tried using hydraulic oil as a cutting fluid a while ago. It did a good job of stripping the paint off my splash guard.
It even softened the paint on the cross slide.