How to turn a Groove

outsider347

Active User
Registered
I have been practicing tool grinding with reasonable success.
So far ground R & L turning & facing tools & a general purpose turning tools. All worked well with reading my books & corrected grinding

Having spent the day & several new HHS bits attempting a round groove, the result always the same....
lots of chatter & howling.
Obviously missing something

Suggestion appreciated
Tks

Although I'm no expert on grinding tooling depending on what your trying to accomplish for example an o-ring groove I have had success with using a parting blade or threading tool. Probably not the "proper" way but it works for me.

Your mileage may vary
GT

Im new to the forum,. but not the machining game. A few suggestions for you. I dont know what kind of material you are cutting, but you have to slow the RPM down for grooving, lubricartion is also important when cutting steel. Not watery lub either but a nice thick threading type oil that lubricates rather than cools. Also, if the groove is wide with lots of tool contact, you might have to grind the tool narrower and rough out the groove in sections. Also, rigidity is imptant. Keep eevrything as short and rigid as possible. And that includes tightening up the gibb key on the compound. Sometimes when you get chatter, you can get it ourt by putting the machine in neutral and carefully rotating the chuck by hand while feeding in the tool carefully.
Also when you grind the tool make sure it is cleraranced properly with the sides narrower at the back than the front . And on the top watch how you grind the chip breaker . I like to hold the top of the tool on the face of the grinding wheel to get a nice large radius as a short steep one ofter causes the tool to dig in.
It is all practice.
Grooving and parting are two of the most frustrating operations on a lathe. It never alsways goes according to plan.Good luck.

More (setup) info