How to make stainless blanks

Tuba Dave

Registered
Registered
My New Year's Resolution for a side hustle involves punching blanks from .02 stainless steel. Think Exacto blades. I want to make a specific shape that is not available and I will market it to techs like myself. I have basic machine shop tools, no water jet or laser cutter or EDM.

I have no experience with punching blanks, other than using a jeweler's punch and a mallet on annealed brass. I assume stainless will need more effort than a hammer blow.

Can I use a pancake die for this gauge of stainless? or do I need to make a punch and die for an arbor press.

Please chime in on any advice you think of that I have not foreseen
Thanks

I guess that would depend on the size and shape of the parts . I made up small split dies that stamped Starrett feeler gage stock in a prototype shop . They worked well with a 3 ton AP . Years ago I made up a die to trim straight razor blades . Made a fixture up and ground them on a surface grinder for broadheads for the hunters in the shop . That was quite a hit with them . :encourage:

These parts will be no bigger than 1.5" in any dimension. It is basically to make a hobby knife blade in a shape that is not available but would be very useful for my trade.

These parts will be no bigger than 1.5" in any dimension.
Rectangular ? If these were just straight blades with no contours you could do this on a regular mill . ( no cnc work needed ) I think I have parts left from a die I made up in he past . My company went thru hundreds of these every night on the fillers . Barry Wehmiller was charging us $17 a pop for these little parts . I made up a split die and punched them out of feeler stock for basically nothing . I remember getting a $100 reward for cost reduction . :big grin: I'll see if I can locate these parts .

My New Year's Resolution for a side hustle involves punching blanks from .02 stainless steel. Think Exacto blades.