How To Do Lay Out For 8 Holes

Kroll

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
DSC02714.JPG Guys I need to try and figure out how to lay out 8-8/32 holes to match the SB mill gear.The other 1/16 thick plate mounts to the gear to keep the timing belt from sliding down has broke into and the old holes in the plate is wore out and very loose even when the screws are tight.I can figure out how to cut it into a circle but I am at a lost how to lay out for 8 holes that needs to match the gear.I have painted the plate so that I can see and try to do a good layout.
For me this is not an easy project cause I am not good at laying out holes(any kind of math) to match and I know that it will be hard for me to comprehend the best and easies answer but I am going to try.If you know of any websites that explains or and links to Youtubes,etc please let me know DSC02713.JPG

First, determine your bolt circle. If you have a digital caliper, use the inside measuring jaws to span one of the holes. Set the scale to "o" and then measure the distance between two directly opposite holes. Measure several combinations and average to get the best reading. Once you have determined the bolt circle diameter, mount your part to be machined and find its center. If you set your machine coordinates at o.o, then the four holes at N, S, E, & W are 0, +r; 0,-r; -r, 0; and +r, 0. The remaining four holes are at a 45 degree angle so the coordinates are +.7071r, +.7071r; +.7071r, -.7071r; -.7071r, -.7071r; &-.7071r,+.7071r.

This procedure can be done on any mill but is most easily done with a DRO equipped mill. Some DRO's have a bolt circle routine which automated this process. Another way to make the ring would be to use a rotary table which would simplify the process.