How might I make a tetrahedron?

Bill Kahn

Registered
Registered
OK. I got making a cube now basically figured out. I have a a PM25MV mill. And some extra stuff (vise, end mills, caliper, clamps, angle plate, rotary table...). And I finally can make a 2" cube that is good to .005 on any measurement. I am thrilled. (Was talking to my machinist brother-in-law over Thanksgiving--he mass produces to .0002" so he wasn't impressed. I think he said he was doing .005" when he was 12 years old. Did not dampen my excitement though.)

How might I machine a tetrahedron? (4 identical equilateral triangles as the four sides). I am a good enough mathematician to work out any of the angles I may need. But geometrically, how do you grab hold of it to machine it? I don't want a hold down threaded hole in one side. I can make an "extruded" triangle--e.g. --a triangular "cylinder." So, I have one of the four triangles. Then I can grab the two parallel sides in a small vise along just the edges, angle it up, and get the second side milled.

I just can't think of how to hold it from there.

Any thoughts/suggestions/references/youtubes?

Thanks.

-Bill

Make the outside of a cavity, bolted together, cast one in the cavity.

Are you trying to make a tetrahedron just because, or is it meant to serve some purpose?

Personally I would start with a bit of round stock and machine the top three sides of the tetrahedron on the end forming a pointy stick effectively. This can be done by setting the work at the appropriate angle then cutting, rotating 120 degrees, cutting again and rotating/cutting one last time.

I would cut the sides all the way out to the bounds of the round stock the part it off at the appropriate "height" Preferably this is done on a lathe, but it is also possible to "part off" on a mill.