How Good Are the Chinese Mills?

Whyemier link=topic=3189.msg23413#msg23413 date=1314399932 said:
Uh? What about the wiring diagram on the back of the manual? Is that any better? I might want to try wiring for 220 some day.

It's tough to do and there's little benefit on it. The machine will riun just fine on a 20 amp breaker with 12 ga . wire. Not to worry. I would spend my time working with the machine and getting to know it.

As to your wife, just do like I do, whenever I gey a new toy, I just hide it under a mop. She never looks there. LOL.

Last edited by a moderator:
I think that for home shop use,110 should be fine as long as your shop's wiring is large gauge enough to handle the amperage. I am not an electrician,though. I used my 2 h.p. mill drill for some years on regular 110 house wiring. The house I was living in at the time was old enough to have some kind of cloth covering on the wires inside the walls.

Best ask an expert.

Watts is watts, and hp is hp, power consumed is identical, but I like the amperage angle. Same devices draw 1/2 the amperage running on 220 vs 110. Two things, at least. this does. Allows smaller wire to carry the same hp/wattage, and lessens the voltage drop on longer wire runs. Everything seems to start quicker. Maybe because of the voltage drop under start load, but seems to be a better way to go to me. I try to convert everything that I don't plan on running outside the shop to 220. I leave the table saw, joiner, planer, etc., that are portable on 110.

I had no dimming lights problem when starting the 2 h.p. mill drill. Yes,220 is better,but be aware that your machine's Chinese wiring diagram may be bogus. It can cause a lot of fooling around if you don't remember how it was wired up. I usually make a little sketch before tearing circuits down.