Hi, newbie here.

Sandia

Active User
Registered
I was wanting some feedback on the purchase of a knee mill. I posted on the general forum for opinions on what to purchase and got some interesting results. I am considering a Bridgeport or possibly a Jet mill. I have a GHB1340 Jet lathe that I have owned for several years and it has performed well. I know the quality of the old Bridgeports was top notch, but I am not very trusting when they represent them as "rebuilt". Most of them are old at least in my price range. Another problem is most of the availability seems to be up in the northern states or west coast, not so much in south Texas. This has led me to considering a new or nearly new Jet. What is you guys opinions?
Thanks much

It's been a while and I know this forum is on Jet etc but maybe you should redirect your question to the Bridgeport and clones section above this one. I have a bench top and can't comment on knee machines-- except I didn't get one because they 're so heavy.

but I am not very trusting when they represent them as "rebuilt". Most of them are old at least in my price range. Another problem is most of the availability seems to be up in the northern states or west coast, not so much in south Texas. This has led me to considering a new or nearly new Jet. What is you guys opinions?
Thanks much

I bought a mill/drill and sold it and bought a knee mill new from Enco (9x48 variable). I am extremely glad that I did. It performs very well and is much easier to deal with than the mill/drill. Wait till you can get free shipping from Enco.

Sorry, edit here. Just wanted to note, that a rebuilt machine could be very good as a bridgeport, but depends on who re-conditioned it and how. That would require some measuring and testing.

Hi I too am a newbie on this forum but I am no Newbie to machining.
I have 70 years experience as a machinist. Yeah Im old
OK I have owned Bridge ports and a Enco Mill (brigeport type).