Here's My "new" Machine

hoth2o

Registered
Registered
So I work as a Middle School Engineering and Technology teacher in a very poor county in South Georgia. Much of my equipment is toss outs from other school systems. Me and my students have fixed/ retrofitted several CNC mills and a CNC router. Some we convert to a new CNC system or some we have converted back to manual models. I got a call at the end of school form a Eng/Tech teacher a few counties away who told me to come pick up a CNC lathe and a mill they were throwing out. I have enough for my class room and was looking to refurbish them for me. I went and picked up the two items and began to work on the Lathe, much to my wife's dismay, on the kitchen table.
The lathe is a EMCO Compact 5 PC. And was not running when he took over the lab 16 years ago. I cleaned it up and troubleshooted various issues, traced wiring, cleaned all the PC board contacts, built an old computer and installed DOS 3.3 on it. And she's Alive. I currently have her running on the original DOS based EMCO Basic program. I have designed a small Chess Pawn (cause there were some plans and tutorials in the EMCO manual) and I turned it out of some aluminum stock. I'm very pleased with it and myself. It came with almost all the educational tooling and accessories. I'm looking for a collet holder and some collets when I come into some money. My wife asked how much I have spent to get her running....The truth is I spent 50 cents plus tax because I needed one for the tail stock and they only had the size I needed in a two pack. (so really 25 cents and I have a spare nut)

So here are some pics and a link to a video of it running and the finished pawn (not parted off because I don't have a parting tool yet.

The "new" Machine after a little cleaning up:

H3LdKQD.jpg

The guts, The beer can sized capacitor scared the heck out of me while tracing wires and electrical work!

Tg6JFb1.jpg

Lots of wiring to go through.

QNplztz.jpg