[How-To] Help with Rust - Vice Restoration

djisabella

Registered
Registered
Hi, I'm a complete novice and I'm trying my hand at restoring an old vice. I'm having issues restoring the non-painted parts (shown below). I started to clean off the old rust by taking a wire wheel to it and then soaking it overnight in evapo rust. I then dried the parts by hand, cleaned them with brake cleaner, applied Brownell 40/40 Instant Gun Blue in multiple applications (applying, letting dry, wiping off, reapplying), and then applied a light coating of oil over the parts. I've done this entire process twice over and rust starts to form overnight. I like the "blue" look, but at this point I've given up on then aesthetics and just want to do something that will be effective at preventing rust. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please keep in mind I have limited tools, so heating with a torch and dunking in oil isn't a great option for me. Thank you very much.

unnamed.jpg

I guess you could just paint the handle pieces, excepting the threaded parts which can be slathered with oil.
You could also try some Boeshield or WD-40 rust preventative
Any unprotected steel will start to rust eventually- faster in humid climates
-Mark

Clean it, and spray with acrylic clear coat (handle only). You can buy it at your local hardware store. Mike

Nitrate bluing would protect the parts from rust, you might look for someone who does it; it involves cleaning the parts (again), coating with light oil and dunking them in a pot of melted nitrate salts at 600F, quenching in warm water, soaking in boiling water to remove the salts, then dipping in hot oil; this is the US Armory method of bluing gun parts.

Hi @djisabella

I agree with Neil Young......Rust never sleeps!

I know that local weather conditions can have a huge affect on how fast something rusts.
However, I also wonder is incomplete rust removal may be part of your problem.