Help needed w/fwd-rev switch BD920N

Johnwright

Wannabe machinist
Registered
I bought a well used Jet 9X20 (BD920N) lathe and the elect. switch is roached out. The switch was real hard to turn and when turned to reverse, my breaker switched off. A new switch from Jet is $265 to $300, what the heck???? I got my hands on a Grizzly switch ($45) for the G4000 since IMHO they should be the same...NOT! I'm not an electrician, but I can follow instructions if some helpful soul can give me some guidance.
(Retired cop in need of some adult supervision)

Is it the DC variable speed type? there looks to be a couple of different types shown with a google image search...
Like this? :-

BD-920N_lathe_reverse_switch_guard_2.jpg

BD-920N_lathe_reverse_switch_guard_2.jpg

Is it the DC variable speed type? there looks to be a couple of different types shown with a google image search...
Like this? :-

View attachment 82331 My Jet switch is your normal Fwd-off-Rev type and the Grizzly that I want to replace it with is very similar. I can't find a Jet wiring diagram to see which wire goes where. I really don't want to haul this thing down to some electrician. A little help here please, but I really would like the variable speed feature but don't want to replace the motor at this point, I just wanna get to making swarf. Thanks for trying.

It looks like their is a circuit digram printed on the bottom of the jet switch cover. Flip it over and snap a pic, and post it.

The challenge here is that the picture of the jet switch shows 8 wires plus the L1 & L2 power, and we have 12 possible connection pints on the new switch. Not the end of the world, you will be able to use it, we just have to parse the connections.

btw, this is not the sort of thing to "trial and error"...