Got My First Machine!

Izzy

Registered
Registered
I hope this is in the right forum, I got my first machine recently its a Bridgeport series 2. It has a 4hp, 4j head I believe (correct me if I'm wrong I am just starting out!) The motor says it can br wired 230 or 460 and is currently wired for 460vac 3phase. Currently I only have 230 single phase, now I know about reconnecting the wires in the head to make it run on 230vac however I was told If I rewired for 220 I would have to change the heaters, fuses and re-wire the transformer for 230vac aswell is this correct? I plan on using either a vfd or rpc to sort out the 3 phase issue. Would it be cheaper to just get a transformer to go along with the vfd/rpc? I have photos if that helps!

Yes, if the mill has a magnetic starter with heaters, you will have to change them and fuses for the appropriate current rating for 230V operation (the current draw will double when changing from 460V to 230V). I'm not sure what the function of the transformer is for your mill. If it only powers auxiliary 115V devices (axis drives, lights, etc.) or a 115V control circuit, you will have to change the line side tap from the 460V connections to 230V connections. The secondary taps will remain on the 115V connections.Also, if you use an RPC to run your mill, make sure not to connect the "generated" leg to the primary of the transformer.
Hope this helps

Ted

Yes thank you that does help! How would I go abouts checking to see if it has a magnetic starter?
I believe the autofeeds get power from the machine itself maybe this is what it's for? I know I saw a big transformer in the control panel on the machine, I have pictures of that aswell if that helps?
How hard is it to change the heaters? Would i be better off just hiring an electrician or would it be cheaper to get a 220 to 460 volt transformer and leave the machine how it is?