Good General Purpose Mount For Test Indicator?

Cavediver

Registered
Registered
I'm new to metal working and am slowly gathering tools for use with my HF 7x10 lathe.

I've picked up a test indicator and a dial indicator., and now I need a good general-purpose base / mount. I've looked at a small Noga as well as the cheaper imports and am now at a standstill...

Am I looking at the correct type of mount (again, general purpose use), or is there something else I should consider?
Am I looking at the right size mount, or should I be looking at something larger?
Is the Noga really worth the extra $$$, or will the imports work well enough for hobby use?

I guess that's it for the moment. I am constantly reading and researching this stuff, but there are soooo many sources of information that I am getting overloaded.

Thanks!

Yes the Noga is well worth the coast. That being said imports do fine for hobby. Most mag base holders will grab the dove tail on a DTI and will also clamp to the barrel of a DI.

Looks like the Noga gets the nod. :D
How about the size selection? Is the small version good for mini-lathe work, or should I pick up the mid-sized version first?

(I'm under no illusion here: I know I'll wind up with more than one, I just need to spread the financial pain out a little bit :) )

Enco has them on sale right now, and there's a free shipping code floating around. I'm going to wait out the week and see if they offer an additional x% off code at some point, but will likely hit the purchase button by Friday if I don't see one.

Wasn't aware of the Nogas, just took a look, man they are pricey! So I've purchased a couple off of EBAY that look just like the Noga for much less, what is the difference?

Wasn't aware of the Nogas, just took a look, man they are pricey! So I've purchased a couple off of EBAY that look just like the Noga for much less, what is the difference?