Golf cart Starter / Generator

Made up a mount for the start/generator and installed the 12 inch pulley.

IMG_1126.jpg

Bad news is the unit is no good. Im suspecting a short in the armature, (I'm no expert on starters). It will spin over on its own but no power, and a dead spot it won't start from. One of the segments on the comutater was burnt, turned it on the lathe, regroved it and the section burnt again.
Now we're on the hunt for another one to see if it has the power.

IMG_1126.jpg

Took 4 old units from the golf course to make a working unit, but it spins the engine over easily. Way faster than I'd ever crank it by hand. Will have to see if the charge circuit is working.

IMG_1127.jpg

Greg

IMG_1127.jpg

Hi, Greg. Interested to read your experiences of hooking up a dynostart to a stationary engine. I'm about to embark on a similar exercise, though in my case fitting the same unit to a 1960 British 650cc single-cylinder motorcycle. Like you, I've had difficulty in finding out the 'working' RPM which you found was 8,000. I also fretted about the likely cranking speed, but of course that will be what it will be, given a) the gearing to achieve 8000 rpm charging and b) the torque the unit provides. I'd like to know how the setup's worked in practice and what you estimate the cranking speed to be. I've got the luxury of a half-decompressor device (for easy starting normally), plus a full decompressor lever (for engine kill normally), which either/together linked with a large flywheel mass should enable so momentum to be built up. I'd be grateful to hear how it's all panned out in (snowy?) Ontario.

Hate to admit it but the engine has been sitting for I guess two years with no progress. I plan on using it in a fire wood processor, that Im working on when I get the time. Will hopefully have made some progress by the end of winter, Good luck.

Greg