Going To Buy A Lathe... Thoughts, Input Solicited By Inexperienced Dufus

markamerica

Registered
Registered
Good evening!

I am finally in a position that I'm going to be able to finish enclosing the workshop section of my barn, and actually begin doing the things I enjoy in my sparse time off from the paying job. I'm new to the fora here, so please bear with me if I come across as insufferably dense. There are two piece of equipment I wish to obtain for my workshop: A (vertical)milling machine and a lathe. On my small farm, there are so many things I could finally fix/build/concoct if I had those two machines, it's ridiculous. I also like building custom things, and tinker and experiment with things. I was a mechanic for the 7 years of my Army career, and have worked on everything from M151A2 "jeeps" to M992 Ammo Carriers, and also work for 13 years after my Army stint on pneumo-hydraulic aircraft arrestment systems used by the Air Force. I have done some minor electrical work, lots of welding(built the barn, for instance,) and have messed with electronics, specifically 70s-80s audio amplifiers and speakers from the same era. I have an adult daughter who, consequent to a bad car wreck just after graduation from high school, has impulse control issues and doesn't do well in social situations. One of my objects with all of this is to be able to teach her to focus again, and to do so absent social stress. She helped with the welding when we built the barn(a teenager then,) and I find she does better when you can unplug from people and focus on a task. I'm now a computer nerd, specializing primarily in databases, networks, and virtualization, and we have a small thoroughbred farm here in Central Texas. Yes, I am the most un-interesting man in the world.