1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

Dismiss Notice

Getting Started 05/17 Version.

Discussion in 'ATLAS, CRAFTSMAN & AA' started by The Legend, May 15, 2017.

1. The Legend

The Legend United States Active Member Active Member

City:
    New Castle
    State:
    Pennsylvania

-Return to Top-

I've been a lurker for a little while here , but I saw this and I had to post. I'm an Engineering Student and I've been slowly getting into metalworking and machining .. I work in two 3D printing labs where things are made easy but I've always had an interest in the original methods of creating things .. such as blacksmithing and general metal working. As my knowledge increased I realized what I was looking for was a milling machine and a lathe .. these are the base machines required to make essentially anything but coming up on two years and I have yet to find a good source for reasonably priced "old" machines that are capable of working metals , I also find myself hard pressed to find local people who are interested in the same things and willing to share their knowledge with some "kid". I've found this field very hard to get into as a poor college student.

2. wa5cab

wa5cab Downloads Moderator Staff Member H-M Supporter-Premium

City:
    Houston
    State:
    Texas

-Return to Top-

Most here, and for that matter most who frequent most of the other fora, are quite willing to answer questions, or offer suggestions or advice when asked. But we can't answer what hasn't been asked.