G4003g Arrived Today

abrace

Registered
Registered
All,

The G4003G arrived today. I have never used a lathe before, was planning on getting something smaller, like the 10x20 G0602, but you know how it is. It is always just $50-$100 more for the next model up and before you know it you have bought this huge lathe.

It was a tough call between this one and the PM1236, but for various reasons I felt this was the better fit based on research (most of it on here). I am not a gunsmith but after factoring in the cost of the separate stand for the G4003, plus the extra shipping, it was barely any more money for the G4003G.

I bought it on New Years eve about 2 hours before midnight. After that Grizzly loaded their 2016 prices and by the time I got up New Years morning it had gone up $55 bucks. One of the reasons I ordered it then was I was worried about a price increase.

Anyhow, I have a 300 foot driveway with an incline, plus another feet to to get it into my new shop and the truck dropped it off at the end of the driveway. Some fresh snow made this a real nail biter.

DSC_0736.JPG

In addition to that, my tractor had no business moving this machinery. I have a maximum loader capacity of 1000lbs and the fact that the load is so long made me pucker right up. I had the load shift on me once and had I not put it down probably would have gone over. I had my back blade on for ballast, but I needed more.

Good news is that it is safe and sound in the shop now and I now need to figure out if I want to build a support for the stand, use it as is, or what. Going to take me a few weeks as I have absolutely no idea what I am doing...but this forum has been a huge help already.

DSC_0737.JPG

DSC_0739.JPG

A picture below of the two boxes containing the lathe stand being transported, this was a like a walk in the park for the tractor after moving the lathe.

DSC_0740.JPG

Tractor is a Kubota L3400...I have had it for 7+ years or so. Been a good tractor, it didn't disappoint.