Fusion 360. All I can say is WOW!!!

I drew up a Parker 6" linear slide

Most items listed on McMaster-Carr's website are directly importable into your drawing as a full 3D component. Maybe your linear slide is one such item.

I've been using Fusion360 for a couple years and I love it. The 2D side is slowly coming together but keep in mind that you can export a sketch as a DXF directly from the modeling environment. The Render and Animation are also very useful tools if you need to present your design to others. And I can't say enough about how wonderful the CAM toolpath system works. It's so easy if you are into CNC. I was literally cutting parts within an hour of installing Fusion360 the first time I tried it.

Matt

Does anybody use turbocad 2017; I still trying to learn
I've tried that product several times, and Just couldnt' get the hang of it. I know there's people who use and like it, but it's just not for me. Fusion 360 was far easier.

I have Solidworks. I know it's expensive, but once you learn a package, it's too hard to switch. I'm not expert, but anything I can make I can draw. Not true the other way around. :)

I have Solidworks. I know it's expensive, but once you learn a package, it's too hard to switch. I'm not expert, but anything I can make I can draw. Not true the other way around. :)

Winegrower:

A couple of months ago I got a one year trial of Solidworks for students (which they offer to vets for free). Could you give us a ballpartk figure what it costs an individual on an annual basis??

I love the tool, and am putting a lot of effort into learning it. It would be nice to know if I can afford it after my freebie expires.

Thanks!

Since you asked, a few years ago, for my R&D business, I bought a Solidworks package, the entry level stuff (but there is a lot in there). I recall it was around $3K. You can pay more for specialized add-ons like thermal analysis, finite element analysis, electrical wiring, etc.