Further Down the Rabbit Hole, or Plasma Cutters, MIGs, and Chop Saws oh my!

As the title says, now that I've dipped my toe into the metal working pool by buying a Logan 816, I'm thinking of all the cool things I want to make (like an angle iron base for the lathe bench that I can put retractable caster/feet), and I'm thinking I "need" a MIG welder, and of course some way to cut up the stock to weld, so I "need" a chop saw. Then I discovered how cool plasma cutters are.

You get the idea.

I'm a newb who hasn't yet spent much money on metalworking tools, so I understand exactly what you're talking about.

I've got an under-used 12" Dewalt compound miter saw for wood. The research I've seen says don't try to use wood miter saws as metal chop saws, but...what's the worst (ok, worst most probable) thing that could happen if I pop a composition blade onto the Dewalt to get me by until I decide if I really like the welding fabrication stuff?

The worst that could happen with a toothed blade is that a tooth could come off and impale you. The worst with a comp blade is that you start fires in the shop from the massive amount of sparks they create, breathe in the nasty compounds of the blade and get emphysema and die. Another (much better) choice is a cold saw, and those are pricy. HFT (Harbor Fright) has a faster metal-only circular saw which runs at a much higher speed but is said to work pretty well. Dewally also builds them, so look at those.

Are plasma cutters really the bomb-diggety, especially if I'm running a 4.2 CFM @ 90 psi compressor?

A friend has a plasma cutter and they're really neat. Since he's only half an hour away, I can't condone the expense (now retired with lower income) of a cutter, so I use his when my hacksaw or HFT metal bandsaw won't do the proper trick. Find a friend with a plasma setup and feed him consumables for the use of his cutter.