Found damage with my vari drive :-( Need advice.

For the motor pulley with the wollered keyway would braze hold up the the use? I could weld but that will input a lot more heat and be harder to machine out. If I use braze I could just use a square file to clean up the key way. I know I could theoretically do the same with weld but it’s going to be a tight hole and suspect the weld is going to make a mess in the hole and be harder to file.

If welding is the route I need to take I was thinking about using the lathe carriage for slotting the keyway. I’ve never done that operation before though. It’s also kind of a long section to slot and feel like I might get some deflection on the hss blank.

Its hard to tell from the picture but the keyway is pretty bad and the shoulders are far from 90*

Edited to add reference picture to the pulley in question
Any reason you couldn't just put a new keyway 180* opposite the old one? I would still try to weld/braze the crack closed, but that's going to put a lot less heat in that filling in the entire keyway.

Any reason you couldn't just put a new keyway 180* opposite the old one? I would still try to weld/braze the crack closed, but that's going to put a lot less heat in that filling in the entire keyway.
I’m a little intimidated at making a keyway from scratch. I also felt like it would double the weak spots. I think I’m going to try brazing the pulley with the worn out keyway. I mean the key is plastic coated and the bushings are plastic. I feel like if it’s all tight it should be fine.

The crack is on another pulley. I was thinking I’ll just put some braze in it. I haven’t brazed in years but I’m sure it’s like riding a bike right…..

Well I bought all the Bridgeport keys to find what’s closest.

IMG_2342.jpeg