For A Forged Blade What Would Be A Good Steel.

markknx

Active User
Registered
I have built a forge and will be just playing with some projects. as far as for knife making I have heard o1 used a lot when machining knives, but would it be good for forging? I have also hear old files but what would I order if I ordered the steel on line. would 4140 work? does not need to be top shelf but usable.
Mark

Years ago an acquaintance of mine used O1 steel. He bought 1/8 by 2" by 36", bandsawed the form, ground to near finish, heat treated them, (quenched in hot oil) and polished them for finish. He liked to use an epoxy handle covered with a turtle's tail skin.

O1 can be forged as well as machined. Leaf springs are not intended to be hard, just "springy". They are often medium carbon steel and may not achieve the desired hardness. I have no direct experience with 4140 but it appears that it is a medium carbon steel as well and and has a maximum hardness of HRc 60. If you can find them, I would guess that old time buggy or wagon springs might have a higher carbon content. Files should work. Just be sure to grind away the teeth prior to forging. W1 steel is forged as well and can obtain a slightly higher hardness than O1.

McMaster Carr carries a variety of steels in bar form. Here is a table of properties for the steels they carry: http://www.mcmaster.com/#standard-steel-sheets/=xbp8qf
If you are going to use a steel of unknown pedigree, it would be wise to run a piece through a hardness test before investing the time and effort in making the knife.

RJ this is why I was asking about known steels. I have other steels, like RR spikes to learn how to shape thinks on. I just don't want to take time to make a blade and have it be trash or just a show piece. Thanks for the help to all that posted.
Mark