• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Guest,  We want to wish You and Your Family a Healthy, Happy Thanksgiving! Click the "X" at the top right corner to remove this notice)
  • PLEASE: Read the FORUM RULES BEFORE registering!

4

Flood Coolant Set Up Questions

3
Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!
10

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#33
I'm posting this here because the wiring my coolant pump through the PMDX-126 relay is the last change I've made to my configuration. Prior to wiring in my coolant pump I installed a braking resistor and ran some test code that included M3 and M4. It worked as expected. Now, after the coolant pump project I ran some test code that included M3 and M4 along with G4. The spindle starts clockwise, feeds down, pauses, then feeds up without the spindle reversing. Thinking my gcode file was the culprit, on the MDI screen I typed in a M4 S400 command. The spindle turned clockwise. I'm going through my configuration settings but haven't found anything yet. This is strange.

For info I'm running a PMDX-126 BoB, a PMDX-107 spindle control board, and a Warp9 ESS. I've also attached my test gcode file.
 

Attachments

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#36
Checked my VFD settings and everything seems to be where it needs to be. I also went thru my Mach3 configuration as it relates to the spindle control and nothing has changed there either, except the coolant on/off settings. I enabled output 2, port 2, pin 14. The spindle output is enabled, step pin 16, Dir pin 14, Dir Low Active checked, Step Low Active not checked, Step Port 1, and Dir Port 1. When I enter a M3 or M4 command pin 16 LED comes on. Still have some more research to do.
 

spumco

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
112
Likes
62
#38
1. P16-Port1 LED should come on at either M3 or M4 - good to go.
2. Check Mach3 LED status on P14-Port1 when you call M3 and M4. Change state? If not, skip to #4 below
3. Check 126 board LED status on pin 14 same test. Or, if running PMDX-107 spindle board, check the 107 board DS-4 LED. See page 14 of 107 manual.
4. Double-check 126 board relay settings. For your setup JP2 should be "multi-mode" and Dip 8 - "Closed" (controls K2 with P14-Port2)
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#39
Did reverse work before the coolant mods?
Yes it did. I got tied up today doing another project but I'm going to revert back to my setup before the coolant pump change and see what happens.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#40
1. P16-Port1 LED should come on at either M3 or M4 - good to go.
2. Check Mach3 LED status on P14-Port1 when you call M3 and M4. Change state? If not, skip to #4 below
3. Check 126 board LED status on pin 14 same test. Or, if running PMDX-107 spindle board, check the 107 board DS-4 LED. See page 14 of 107 manual.
4. Double-check 126 board relay settings. For your setup JP2 should be "multi-mode" and Dip 8 - "Closed" (controls K2 with P14-Port2)
Yes, Pin 16 LED comes on with a M3 or M4 command. I'll look at the Mach 3 pin 14 LED. The BoB pin 14 LED does not come on with a M3 or M4 command. I'll check out the 107 board but I don't recall seeing an LED come on with an M3 or M4. JP2 is set to multi-mode. Don't recall if Dip switch 8 is open or closed but will check tomorrow.

This is way too much fun. Geez!!!
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#41
Spent quite a bit of time today trying to figure out why the spindle won't reverse. No luck.

In addition to the information above Here's more:

DS1 comes on with a M3 and M4 command.

DS2 comes on with a M3 or M4 command.

DS3 comes on at power up.

DS4 does not come on with a M# or M4 command.

DS5 flashes rapidly with a M3 or M4 command.

The Mach3 pin 16 or 14 lights do not come on when a M3 or M4 command is entered. I'm assuming you are referring to the pin lights on the Diagnostic screen.

JP2 is in multi-mode. Dip switch 8 is closed. To verify I changed dip switch 8 to open and K2 relay does not energize.

Tried using pin 1, and 17 as Dir pins but this made no difference. Also tried a few VFD parameter changes that didn't work out.

I rechecked my Mach3 configuration and double checked it against the PMDX-126 and 107 manuals. And I unwired and rewired the 107 board to the VFD. No luck here either.

I've attached a wiring diagram for the 107 to VFD for reference. I'm thinking I have a bad spindle control board.
 

Attachments

spumco

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
112
Likes
62
#42
DS1 comes on with a M3 and M4 command. - Check SAT

DS2 comes on with a M3 or M4 command. - Check SAT

DS3 comes on at power up. - Check SAT

DS4 does not come on with a M# or M4 command. Check UNSAT

DS5 flashes rapidly with a M3 or M4 command. - Inconclusive. See Table 9 of PMDX-107 manual to see if flash pattern corresponds with error codes

The Mach3 pin 16 or 14 lights do not come on when a M3 or M4 command is entered. I'm assuming you are referring to the pin lights on the Diagnostic screen. - Correct, was referring to the Mach3 pin status screen LED's. UNSAT.

P1-P16 screen LED may not be visible as it's putting out the PWM signal and may appear odd as it's probably trying to blink at some high frequency.

P1-P14 should come on at an M4 command and stay off at M3, as the 107 uses P1-P14 as the direction signal. Pin low is FWD, pin high is reverse.

If Mach3 isn't sending Port 1 Pin 14 high at an M4 command, then the PMDX-126 and -107 aren't receiving a reverse direction command. Even if nothing is connected to the computer or ESS, Mach3 should still report via the screen LED's that P1-P14 is 'high' when M4 is commanded.

JP2 is in multi-mode. Dip switch 8 is closed. To verify I changed dip switch 8 to open and K2 relay does not energize. - Check SAT

I'm thinking I have a bad spindle control board. - not sure about that yet.

TESTS:
1. Next step is to figure out why (or verify that) Mach3 isn't sending P1-P14 high at M4. I don't know enough about the ESS to determine if that could interfere with the signal. I would put a multi-meter in the ribbon cable terminal (use a needle in the terminal) to the PMDX-126 and check for 0VDC between P1-P14 and ground. Then call M4 and see if you get voltage at that pin.

1a. Voltage = problem in PMDX-126, 107, or the VFD (electrical, wiring, or programming). Skip to Test 2.
1b. No voltage = problem with ribbon cable or ESS/126 terminals, ESS (electrical or plugin), or Mach3 configuration. Skip to Test 4.

2. If voltage is present at Test 1 (above), then check PMDX-126 P1-P14 LED adjacent to connector J6 (next to big transformer). Command M4 and see if that LED lights up.

2a. P1-P14 LED lights up = Problem with 107, 126 to 107 cable or connectors. Skip to Test 3.

2b. P1-P14 LED doesn't light up = May be problem with 126. Not sure if using the 107 supersedes or overrides this LED, manual is not clear if this output LED should light up when a 107 is connected.

3. P1-P14 LED lights up, but 107 LED DS4 does not = Problem with PMDX-107 connector, ribbon cable, dip switches, or dead 107 board.

3a. If no LED, then check dip switches 1-3 on 107, wiring connections, and ribbon cable. Unfortunately, the J18 connector pin-out is proprietary and you'l need to get in touch with PMDX for further trouble-shooting if a continuity check of the cable is SAT and the dip switches are set properly.

4. Something other than 126 or 107...
4a. Check ribbon cable continuity, check for bent pins.
4b. Verify ESS plugin. Re-install if necessary. Check configuration. Voltage test at ESS P1-P14 output pin.
4c. Verify Mach3 config again. I know...again...

My suspicion is that there's a Mach3 or ESS configuration problem and not a hardware issue (or not exclusively a hardware issue) - you should have gotten the P1-P14 screen LED to come on even if nothing is connected to the computer.

-S
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#43
DS1 comes on with a M3 and M4 command. - Check SAT

DS2 comes on with a M3 or M4 command. - Check SAT

DS3 comes on at power up. - Check SAT

DS4 does not come on with a M# or M4 command. Check UNSAT

DS5 flashes rapidly with a M3 or M4 command. - Inconclusive. See Table 9 of PMDX-107 manual to see if flash pattern corresponds with error codes

The Mach3 pin 16 or 14 lights do not come on when a M3 or M4 command is entered. I'm assuming you are referring to the pin lights on the Diagnostic screen. - Correct, was referring to the Mach3 pin status screen LED's. UNSAT.

P1-P16 screen LED may not be visible as it's putting out the PWM signal and may appear odd as it's probably trying to blink at some high frequency.

P1-P14 should come on at an M4 command and stay off at M3, as the 107 uses P1-P14 as the direction signal. Pin low is FWD, pin high is reverse.

If Mach3 isn't sending Port 1 Pin 14 high at an M4 command, then the PMDX-126 and -107 aren't receiving a reverse direction command. Even if nothing is connected to the computer or ESS, Mach3 should still report via the screen LED's that P1-P14 is 'high' when M4 is commanded.

JP2 is in multi-mode. Dip switch 8 is closed. To verify I changed dip switch 8 to open and K2 relay does not energize. - Check SAT

I'm thinking I have a bad spindle control board. - not sure about that yet.

TESTS:
1. Next step is to figure out why (or verify that) Mach3 isn't sending P1-P14 high at M4. I don't know enough about the ESS to determine if that could interfere with the signal. I would put a multi-meter in the ribbon cable terminal (use a needle in the terminal) to the PMDX-126 and check for 0VDC between P1-P14 and ground. Then call M4 and see if you get voltage at that pin.

1a. Voltage = problem in PMDX-126, 107, or the VFD (electrical, wiring, or programming). Skip to Test 2.
1b. No voltage = problem with ribbon cable or ESS/126 terminals, ESS (electrical or plugin), or Mach3 configuration. Skip to Test 4.

2. If voltage is present at Test 1 (above), then check PMDX-126 P1-P14 LED adjacent to connector J6 (next to big transformer). Command M4 and see if that LED lights up.

2a. P1-P14 LED lights up = Problem with 107, 126 to 107 cable or connectors. Skip to Test 3.

2b. P1-P14 LED doesn't light up = May be problem with 126. Not sure if using the 107 supersedes or overrides this LED, manual is not clear if this output LED should light up when a 107 is connected.

3. P1-P14 LED lights up, but 107 LED DS4 does not = Problem with PMDX-107 connector, ribbon cable, dip switches, or dead 107 board.

3a. If no LED, then check dip switches 1-3 on 107, wiring connections, and ribbon cable. Unfortunately, the J18 connector pin-out is proprietary and you'l need to get in touch with PMDX for further trouble-shooting if a continuity check of the cable is SAT and the dip switches are set properly.

4. Something other than 126 or 107...
4a. Check ribbon cable continuity, check for bent pins.
4b. Verify ESS plugin. Re-install if necessary. Check configuration. Voltage test at ESS P1-P14 output pin.
4c. Verify Mach3 config again. I know...again...

My suspicion is that there's a Mach3 or ESS configuration problem and not a hardware issue (or not exclusively a hardware issue) - you should have gotten the P1-P14 screen LED to come on even if nothing is connected to the computer.

-S
Wow! Thanks for your comprehensive test procedure. I'm going to go your route but first I'm going to try one more thing. I spent several hours searching the net for any information on a similar situation. Came up empty handed until late last night I came across an archive file from another machining forum. Buried in about 500 files was a thread that walked through almost exactly the same problem I'm having. There wasn't much detail given (it appears that the problem was discussed and resolved over the phone) but the conclusion was the end user had a corrupt Mach3 configuration file. Reloading Mach solved the M3/M4 problem. I'll report back.
 

spumco

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
112
Likes
62
#44
Dying to find out the deal, and I'm hoping it's a config problem. You really didn't change anything on any of the board config switches other than enabling K2.

And you didn't report a "saw a pretty blue spark" event, so I'm crossing my fingers all the electrical pixies are still where they're supposed to be.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#45
Dying to find out the deal, and I'm hoping it's a config problem. You really didn't change anything on any of the board config switches other than enabling K2.

And you didn't report a "saw a pretty blue spark" event, so I'm crossing my fingers all the electrical pixies are still where they're supposed to be.

Yeah, I'm anxious too. I also posted on the PMDX forum. Received some feedback with a few things to try. I got tied up yesterday with "other" things. Today I plan on finishing the configuration.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#46
Not much to report. The lack of CCW rotation is still there. This is what I did today.

1. Finished configuring Mach3. I purposely didn't save any of my configuration so I wouldn't reload a bad configuration. All components work as they should, except the spindle.

2. Checked continuity from the ESS Pin 14 through the ribbon cable and to Port 1 Pin 14 on the 126 board. All good.

3. Entered a M4 command and checked voltage from the ESS Port 1 Pin 14 to J6 Pin 14. Had 4.8vdc from the ESS to Port 1 Pin 14 ribbon cable connector. Measured 0vdc at J6 Pin 14 terminal with M3 command. This is good!

4. Removed the 107 board from the ESS, checked to ribbon cable connectors and headers.

5. No matter what I've done Pin 14 LED or DS4 LED does not turn on.

6. Changed 107 dip switches 3 and 4 from off to on. No change.

My next test is to determine if the REV signal is getting from the 107 board to the VFD.
 

spumco

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
112
Likes
62
#47
Sorry - It's been a while since I used Mach3 and I forgot there isn't a dedicated pin status LED for the spindle. Most of the other outputs have a PIN LED, but it appears that I may have given you bunk info based on my dodgy memory of Mach3. I'm using UCCNC and it has a dedicated LED for every port & pin.

Not that it matters - you've proven that Mach3 and the ESS are doing their thing appropriately.

Another thing to test, after you've checked the 107 output (assuming it's outputting properly), is the VFD itself. It usually sucks changing parameters back and forth, but you might try seeing if you can get it to reverse direction using the local VFD panel - just to confirm the VFD isn't acting up.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#48
Sorry - It's been a while since I used Mach3 and I forgot there isn't a dedicated pin status LED for the spindle. Most of the other outputs have a PIN LED, but it appears that I may have given you bunk info based on my dodgy memory of Mach3. I'm using UCCNC and it has a dedicated LED for every port & pin.

Not that it matters - you've proven that Mach3 and the ESS are doing their thing appropriately.

Another thing to test, after you've checked the 107 output (assuming it's outputting properly), is the VFD itself. It usually sucks changing parameters back and forth, but you might try seeing if you can get it to reverse direction using the local VFD panel - just to confirm the VFD isn't acting up.
I did some further testing this morning, and to your suggestion about 107 outputs. Here's what I came up with (some data may have changed from what I previously reported).

1. In M3 mode (P1P16 LED on). Measured .22vdc at Pin 14, 1.22vdc at Pin 16, .11vdc at Pin 1, and 0vdc at Pin 17. In M4 mode (P1Pin16 LED on). Measured .23vdc at Pin 14, 1.22vdc at Pin16, .11vdc at Pin 1, and 0vdc at Pin 17.

2. In M3 mode measuring between 107 board and Agnd terminal. Measured 0 vdc at REV, measured 23.6vdc at FWD, measured 23.7vdc at COM, and measured 2.9vdc across Aout and Agnd. In M4 mode measured 0vdc at REV, 24.0vdc at FWD, 24.1vdc at COM, and .29 across Aout and Agnd.

3. Checked voltage at the VFD terminals. In M3 mode measured P24 at 23.6vdc, PLC at 0vdc, L at 0vdc, 1 at 23.6 vdc, 2 at 0vdc, and O at 0vdc. In M4 mode measured 23.8vdc at P25, 0vdc at PLC, 0vdc at L, 23.7 at 1, 0vdc at 2, and 2.9vdc at O.

What I see is the REV signal is not getting to the 107 board.

As I'm sitting here writing this I realized I can reverse the FWD and REV leads at the VFD and if the spindle runs in reverse then that tells me it's not the VFD. I sure wish the PMDX guys would respond with there input. I'm sure they would zero in on the problem so we don't have to continue down this testing path, and I can get my mill running.

Again, thanks for your help.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#49
I swapped the FWD and REV signal wires from the 107 board to the VFD. Keyed in a M3 command and the spindle turned CCW. Same with a M4 command. The VFD configuration is good. It's now either the 126 or 107 boards, or both.
 

spumco

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
112
Likes
62
#50
While you're waiting for PMDX to get on the ball, you could try unplugging the 107 board from the 126. Then see if you get the LED and/or 5VDC at P1-P14 when you toggle M3/M4.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#51
While you're waiting for PMDX to get on the ball, you could try unplugging the 107 board from the 126. Then see if you get the LED and/or 5VDC at P1-P14 when you toggle M3/M4.
Good idea. I'll give it a shot in the morning.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#52
While you're waiting for PMDX to get on the ball, you could try unplugging the 107 board from the 126. Then see if you get the LED and/or 5VDC at P1-P14 when you toggle M3/M4.
Unplugged the 107. No change. P1 P16 LED comes on whether it's a M3 or M4 command. I'm measuring voltage across the Gnd terminal and P16 terminal on J6. I'm getting about 1vdc. Shouldn't I see 5vdc? The FWD signal is getting to the 107 board because I'm seeing 24vdc between the 107 and VFD.
 

spumco

Active Member
Active Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2016
Messages
112
Likes
62
#53
Not if you have P1-P16 set to PWM output. You could change your spindle speed and see if the voltage goes up or down.

Another test to narrow it down -

1. Leave the 107 unplugged.
2. Uncheck "disable spindle relays"
3. Set CW to Output 1
4. Set CCW to Output 2
5. Change Output 1 to P1-P16
6. Change Output 2 to P1-P14
7. Change Spindle on Motor tab/window - enable the spindle, but clear out the step/dir pins.
7. Toggle M3/M4 and you should get the two LED's on the 126 to light up.

This should emulate using simple on/off relays to turn the spindle on and off with no speed control. The point of this test is to try to force, in some way, P1-P14 to go high. Trying to check if you have a blown 126 board.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#54
Not if you have P1-P16 set to PWM output. You could change your spindle speed and see if the voltage goes up or down.

Another test to narrow it down -

1. Leave the 107 unplugged.
2. Uncheck "disable spindle relays"
3. Set CW to Output 1
4. Set CCW to Output 2
5. Change Output 1 to P1-P16
6. Change Output 2 to P1-P14
7. Change Spindle on Motor tab/window - enable the spindle, but clear out the step/dir pins.
7. Toggle M3/M4 and you should get the two LED's on the 126 to light up.

This should emulate using simple on/off relays to turn the spindle on and off with no speed control. The point of this test is to try to force, in some way, P1-P14 to go high. Trying to check if you have a blown 126 board.
Got it. Another test tomorrow.
 

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
May 20, 2013
Messages
1,469
Likes
459
#55
Not if you have P1-P16 set to PWM output. You could change your spindle speed and see if the voltage goes up or down.

Another test to narrow it down -

1. Leave the 107 unplugged.
2. Uncheck "disable spindle relays"
3. Set CW to Output 1
4. Set CCW to Output 2
5. Change Output 1 to P1-P16
6. Change Output 2 to P1-P14
7. Change Spindle on Motor tab/window - enable the spindle, but clear out the step/dir pins.
7. Toggle M3/M4 and you should get the two LED's on the 126 to light up.

This should emulate using simple on/off relays to turn the spindle on and off with no speed control. The point of this test is to try to force, in some way, P1-P14 to go high. Trying to check if you have a blown 126 board.
Ran the test as you suggested. P16 LED lights up but no Pin 14 LED. I think the Pin 14 relay is toast. Thinking back on the K2 (P1P14) relay configuration issues I had I might have done something. Just don't know what I did.

While I was reading through the PMDX-126 manual, for the 20th time, I read where J6 and J5 are the same types of outputs. Wow! Did some more reading and thought maybe this is a work around. Changed my configuration to use Port 2 Pins 14 and 16 and ran the test above. With a M3 command J5 "C" LED lights up and a M4 command lights up the J5 "B" and "C" lights are on. Maybe I'm on to something. Next hurdle to overcome is getting the 126 board to pass these signals to the 107 board. Guess I'll be reading the manual for the 21st time. LOL
 
[6]
5 [7]