Flood Coolant Amount?

Wrencher2423

Registered
Registered
I am in the process of converting my g0704 mill to a cnc and going to add flood coolant and wondering what the amount of coolant I will need. I see 3 gallon,5 gallon and even 10 gallon systems . Not sure what size I should be planning for. Got the chip tray built and all the nema motors and are currently waiting on the ballscrews and mounts from Arizona Dave . Any advice on this subject would help. I am a complete noobie on this whole cnc thing . Going to hopefully teach my self how to run this machine. We will see. Thanks

I say 10 gallons, you could drain a 5 gallon tank and you don't want your submersible pump sucking air or sticking up out of the coolant they use the coolant to keep the pump cool. Your mill table drain holes will clog with chips and your table will fill up with coolant. Then your chip pain drain will plug up slowing drainage back to the tank. I also used the flood coolant to clean up the machine spraying down the enclosure and that probably uses more coolant flow than during machining. Yeah 5 gallons too little 15 gallons too much 10 gallons about right unless you have an enclosure that allows you to blast coolant at full throttle.

Here's a coolant tank, these things are thick and tough as nails and cost only $20 for the 14 gallon. They also make a 20 gallon. http://www.lowes.com/pd_136523-1097-1869454___?productId=4462429&pl=1&Ntt=tote

I am in the process of converting my g0704 mill to a cnc and going to add flood coolant and wondering what the amount of coolant I will need. I see 3 gallon,5 gallon and even 10 gallon systems . Not sure what size I should be planning for. Got the chip tray built and all the nema motors and are currently waiting on the ballscrews and mounts from Arizona Dave . Any advice on this subject would help. I am a complete noobie on this whole cnc thing . Going to hopefully teach my self how to run this machine. We will see. Thanks