First lathe, South Bend 10k

Mandmj

Registered
Registered
Hello all, thought I'd drop a post about my recently acquired 10k. This is my first foray into machining, but have been working with wood and with tools most of my life. I found the lathe on craigslist from a local machinery dealer. I wasn't sure about it's condition given how dirty it was in the pics, but after many months of looking at high priced worn out scrap, I called him back and he sent me some videos of the machine cutting, etc. Initially I had thought the machine overpriced, but after looking for several months, I decided it really wasn't for where I live (Oklahoma). I picked it up on Memorial Day weekend.

It was filthy, but in otherwise decent shape as far as I could tell (but then again, I'm new to this, so what do I know). Therefore I decided I'd starting cleaning and taking things apart to see how they were. I diagnosed a loose leadscrew in the gear box in short order and the wicks were in unknown condition. Once I waded in, it became a full mechanical teardown, but I didn't want to spend the time on a respray just yet.