Finish on a gib

iron man

Active User
Registered
I have been self taught on scraping to straighten out a few minor worn V ways, dovetails and such. I would love to take a scraping class some time when time would permit me to do so. When I was 16 I worked in a machine shop there was a lot of old machines with a lot of old machinist. I was helping tear down and rebuild one of the Milling machines there when we pulled out the knee gib I noticed that someone had done what looked like an engine turned effect on the face of the gib it was nice to look at but we threw it in a box and kept working. It was not done by hand it was machine done it also was not factory because we had a new factory gib ready to go back in. After the re-build the knee was rather catchy and jerky the old machinist I was working with took the old gib out of the parts box and told me this is a better gib put it in and the problem was gone he never explained why I always thought it was because it limited the surface contact area??