Finally got mill, what tooling to start with

dado5

Registered
Registered
I just picked up an excello 602 mill. Never even us d one before! I plan on getting most tooling at auctions or used but need to buy some to at least get started. It came with a chuck and set of r8 collets. What are the thins I should get first? I was thinking just some 1/4" or 1/2" roughing end mills and a boring bar set to play with? Is it ok to hold end mills in the collets or should I get some other type of holder with set screw? I am completely new at this. Here is a pic of mill
IMG_0091.JPG

Collets will hold end mills. They must be well tightened, though. roughing and finishing end mills are good to have. Often, you can find deals on small end mills on Ebay, ten for $. compare cost per unit, buy what you need, consider them expendable.
It appears you once had digital readout, the aluminum cover on the front of the table probably has a scale under it.
You'll want an indicator of some sort to tram the head, (make sure it's perpendicular to the table). There have been threads about tooling needed, perhaps you can find one of them.

Congrats on the mill and welcome to the site! Loaded question on the tooling by the way. You will potentially spend as much on the tooling as the mill (eventually).

You'll want some end mills to do the real work. No problem going directly in a collet in my experience. I only use collets on my Jet JVM-830 mill, mostly use an ER-32 collet chuck on my Bridgeport.