Expectations / Capabilities / Accuracy of mini-mills/lathes

theoldwizard1

Active User
Registered
Total newbie, so I ask silly questions, or don't really ask the correct question.

First, I understand from the discussion that we had on calipers this measuring tool "gets you in the ball park". If you really want to measure a part accurately you will need a micrometer or a dial gauge or other appropriate high accuracy instrument.

When I buy my mill, I will probably be making things like mounts/brackets for marine/automotive application, mostly out of aluminum, but plastic or mild steel are not out of the question.

One item I recently purchased was made out of 3 - 1/2" aluminum plates, joined at the edge with 1/4" flat head screws to form a C-channel (it was made this way because there was machining on the inside faces). A very shallow rabbet was cut on the side pieces to help align the back, but you were still drilling a #7 hole into the edge of a 1/2" aluminum plate that had to line up with a 1/4" countersunk hole on the side plate. Locating the hole off of the edges of 2 different work pieces is obviously important.

So how close is "close enough" for hole location on a job like this ? +/-0.002, +/-0.005, +/-0.010 ? Is a a min-mill capable of doing this (assuming the operator knows how to correctly find the edges and crank in the location).

The wood worker in me would just clamp the pieces together and drill the pilot hole for the screw through the side of one piece into the edge of the other. Of course we are talking 1" nominal boards.

Some of that will depend on the diameter of the holes in relation to the fasteners. If you holes will allow some movement of the plates then you can be off a bit and still be able to fasten them together. Personally, that is not the way I like to do things.