End Mill Sharpener ?

rdean

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have been watching mark_f's post (Another Tool and Cutter Grinder) with great interest. He makes some beautiful useful tools and this one just caught me. Maybe I could make something that resembles an end mill sharpener that might even work. I watched a lot of videos and many other threads here and on line and there are many different designs to get the same results. A member here (coffmajt) made a sharpener a few months back that uses a table top grinder. I have a HF model similar to his so that is what I will try to use. He was kind enough to answer some of my questions and was a big help.

I have no experience what ever in sharpening end mills so this project may be just for fun and entertainment but here goes. ( I have trouble sharpening a pencil)

I have made some morse tapers recently and wondered if I could make a end mill holder with a R8 taper. Found the angle of the taper and went to the Machinists Handbook to get the sine measurement and set up my lathe. I started with a piece from the scrap bin that I think was from an old office chair.
1.jpg

I figured about 7 1/2" long should be about right and had a go at the R8 taper.

2.jpg

Well that worked out really well so I got a 1/2" bolt and cut it down in the lathe. I single pointed some 7/16" 20 threads, cut off the head, and added a handle.
5.jpg

It looks like this might work so I made a collar to press on to the barrel but first I drilled 4 holes 90 degrees apart to use for locating holes. Well as long as I had it set up I also added 2 more holes 120 degrees apart from the first just in case I have a three flute mill to sharpen.
3.jpg

4.jpg

6.jpg

We will have to see what happens from here but so far I have had a lot of fun

Thanks for looking

Ray

Is this going to be linear/rotary unit for sharpening flutes or just used for indexing to sharpen the ends?

I cannot imagine what you're up to!