End mill selection

Joe P.

Registered
Registered
I know there are many variables and considerations to take into account, but... are the any general guide lines in choosing what type of end mill to use. For instance number of flutes, coated vs. uncoated, helix, etc. Looking at the selection of end mills in catalogs and on websites can be very intimidating.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Let me start by saying I'm no expert, so start with that. For hobby work I use high speed steel cutters usually 4 flute, for most jobs except slotting, where 2 flute are better due to chip removal. If the material being cut is stainless or work hardening I Use carbide. I haven't seen that much difference with the few TIN coated cutters I have used, but I'm not in a production environment either. I also use 2 flues on aluminum Jack

I would also stick with HSS unless you have a high speed mill, in which case inserted carbide might work for you. There are no hard rules to choosing end mills but there are some soft ones.
  • It is always a good idea to use a roughing end mill when possible to do the bulk of the work, then use a sharp end mill to finish. If your mill is on the small side, fine [pitch roughing] end mills work well.
  • There are centercutting and non-centercutting end mills; both are useful. You can plunge with both but the latter requires a drilled hole first.
  • There are single and double-ended end mills. They're the same; just flip the latter over when one end is dull.
  • 2 flute end mills give you the best chip clearance and are a good choice for general milling.
  • 3 flutes are good for slotting and also work well for general use.
  • 4 flutes or more are good for reducing chip load or when a fine finish is needed.
  • High helix end mills work great in aluminum; this applies to roughing and finishing end mills.
  • If you have to go deep, carbide deflects less but they like speed and they cost money.
  • Use the largest end mill you can for the job.