DRO Accuracy

Merlin123

Registered
Registered
Hello all,
I have been using my Precision Matthews 1236 for about 3 years and when originally purchased, I had the seller include the Easson ES-8A DRO. When I first got the machine I tested the DRO (which was set up with glass scales) to see if there was any offset to the readings. As it turned out the readings would grow by .002 to .003 each time you would move either axis away from your cutting point and then back again. Very frustrating.
I did the measuring and the math to try reducing the offset error and entered that into the setup program. The changes seem to work but only intermittently so I am still double checking my positions manually to ensure I don't damage a part. This really adds to my shop time and would like to be able to trust my DRO.
I have only been setting the linear error adjustments as yet but have considered attempting to figure out if the non-linear error correction scheme might be worth a try.
Any one out there have a tip or two on how to improve my setup?
Be great to hear from ya!
Thanks,
Merlin123

I can't help you with the non-linear compensation thing because the computer stuff is all Greek to me but from your description of the problem it seems to me that the issue might be a lack of rigidity in the mounts for the scales or the reader head.
I'm sure you've checked that everything is tight countless times but are the mounting brackets themselves robust enough to preclude any movement at all?
A decent glass scale should not be that unpredictable.

Just a thought which occurred as I read your post.

Good luck.