Draw bar too long?

monkeyb0y

Registered
Registered
Ok stupid question. I just wired up my Bridgeport 2hp Varispeed and when I put an R8 collet in it to tram the head the collet wouldn't draw up tight. It stuck out from the quill about 1/4 inch. The draw bar came with the mill but did they give me the wrong one or am I doing something stupid. The draw bar measures 22.5 in overall with a 4 in nut then a 0.25 in "washer"/spacer and a 18.25 in shaft the last inch being threaded. I'm new to all this and have been reading all I can but have little practical experience so I could easily be overlooking something so basic no one mentions it.

Thanks
Kevin

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Your probably right that its too long but you would think that things would be pretty standard on an r8 setup. You could just shorten the drawbar you have.

I made a new drawbar for my mill and did intentionally make it longer than the orig so I would have something to play with if/when I stripped threads. I made mine out of solid stock but usually there is a head and bar connected with a roll pin, you could make a shorter bar, keep the head and orig bar in case you find some r8 holders that need your longer bar.

A vid of the making of my drawbar if your interested.

[video=youtube_share;mmaqK4VtulY]http://youtu.be/mmaqK4VtulY[/video]

I ended up adding spacers under the head of the nut until I was satisfied it was correct. I don't understand how the prior owner used it the way I got it. wobble like crazy. . .