DOA Electric Motor Question

7HC

Active User
Registered
Just finished assembling my HF 4x6 bandsaw and the motor doesn't work. Doh!

Unpowered, the motor shaft spins freely, but when power is applied the motor hums and buzzes loudly and the shaft won't rotate.
It's being held magnetically rather than being physically locked.

A new motor is being shipped, but meanwhile I wonder if this a capacitor issue, either bad or wrong spec.
The motor is a 1HP (ha!) 120v and the cap is marked 250v, but I don't know enough to know if that's a problem.

IMG_1721.JPG IMG_1722.JPG IMG_1723.JPG

As you can see, the cap is hard wired to the motor, although possibly there's a joint under the shrink-wrap.
If the cap is the issue, will it be safe to cut the wires individually using insulated pliers and gloves, then short it for safety?

Finally, if one is needed, how close a spec would a replacement cap have to be?

Thanks,

M

IMG_1721.JPG IMG_1722.JPG IMG_1723.JPG

Last edited:
I'm no expert on motors but your capacitor is marked as a run capacitor so it only comes in to use under full load. The motor is either wired wrong internally or just bad. Was there any kind of wiring diagram for the motor under the cover?

I'm no expert on motors but your capacitor is marked as a run capacitor so it only comes in to use under full load. The motor is either wired wrong internally or just bad. Was there any kind of wiring diagram for the motor under the cover?

No, nothing under the end cover or capacitor cover.......this is an HF product so hardly surprising.

M

That motor has the right cap in it, There run caps and it won't run or start with a start cap. Try giving the shaft a spin when you turn it on. If it starts then it will be the cap and good luck tiring to fine one.

Paul

It could also be that the contacts are dirty and not connecting so that the cap never gets into the circuit.
That is usually the first thing I check because it is the easiest to fix.