Do I Want A Cnc Lathe?

MARVIN GARDENS

Registered
Registered
Hi.

I am new into hobby machining. I have friends that are gunsmiths/machinists and one that has a mold shop. I am an accountant in real life but have enjoyed working with tools since I was a boy fetching tools for my grandfather. I work in the evenings and on weekends with my mill and manual lathes and it is a nice distraction from work. I think the reason I became so interested in this hobby is that I am now able to create the objects that I would envision after going to bed and waiting to go to sleep.

I have been offered a Hardinge CNC lathe from a friend/client of mine. It has no tailstock and has a four position rotating tool post. It is no longer connected to a computer but everything else is still there. My friend recently pulled it off his shop floor as he replaced it with a new, much more complex machine.

My question really is do I want this machine? I know nothing about CNC. My understanding has always been that CNC machines were for production runs or manufacturing. Most of my work is one or two off projects. Do most hobby CNC machinists do it because they just enjoy the process? I notice that most of the posts here involve CNC mills and I am not sure this lathe would be worth the shop space it would demand.

Thanks.

Bob

Maybe one could use it manually. If it would increase your capability and worth the
space, it would be worth considering. Parting it out would be another way to utilize it.
Think of the machine as what could it be rather that what it presently is. Would it be possible to
return it to it's previous state as a CNC lathe? Most of my activity is to make one part
or repair one part so unless I radically changed what I do, CNC would be a detriment.
I'm sure there are members who use CNC will have a very different view on this subject than I
and others like me who don't with some good ideas. Thanks for starting an interesting thread Bob!