DAKE V16 Bandsaw Help

discus

Registered
Registered
I'm going to look at a Dake V16 vertical bandsaw tomorrow morning and wondering if anyone with some knowledge on Dake band saws could give me some tips on what to look out for. I think it might be variable speed which concerns me. Unfortunately the unit is not under power. I have no experience with industrial type band saws and could really use some direction. I searched around on the web but there isn't much of any info on the unit to be found. Hoping this is the correct place to post this. I didn't find a section for Dakes.

Thank You

Dale

Last edited:
16" bandsaws seem to be fairly rare, I've been looking for one in my area for several years without success. You either see a 14", which is typically a wood saw with a gear box to slow it down, or the 20" saws like DoAll. I'd be all over it if it works and doesn't have any major problems.

It's probably 220v and might be 3 phase also. Not a deal breaker as you can get a VFD fairly cheap.

I just saw a 20" 3 phase saw that ran and had a functioning blade welder local to me and the asking price was $1850 which I think is a good deal for this area.

If it uses a variable pitch sheave assembly for the speed change (Reeves Drive) make sure it works as they will fail over time.

Hi Dale,

I am no expert, but trying to come up with something to help you with the inspection.....

Inspect:
-the rubber tires on the wheels
-blade guides, are they "cool blocks" or ball bearings? If bearing what shape are they in?
-with the blade removed, you could try spinning the wheels and motor by hand, just to be sure there are no bad bearings

an internet search shows these are very sturdy machines (975 pounds!) you have a way to move that beast?

I'll post back if I think of more.

Good luck!
-brino

And I would certainly not be offering top dollar, without seeing it under power. It's a complete crap shoot otherwise, IMHO.

Hi Dale,