D1-4 Chucks Back Plate Interchangability

Elmo

Registered
Registered
I have an Enco 13x40 gap bed lathe that I acquired secondhand. It came with a 3 jaw chuck mounted and a 4 jaw chuck with no backplate. I have no experience with D-4 backplates. Can I change the backplate from one to the other or do I have to buy a backplate for the four jaw and fit it to the chuck? I also would like to have a faceplate also. Sorry if this is a dumb question.
Elmo

Elmo
The chances of the register on your back plate being a good fit is iffy at best, so I would buy a back plate that way changing chucks will be easy.
I will hazard a guess that the 4 jaw is a 8"? if so grizzly has a T25219 D1-4 8" back plate for $ 79.00
And if you are a vet they have a 5% discount
Tomh

elmo there is no such thing in my book as a dumb question

The face plate to fit your lathe from grizzly is P07821002 but you will have to call there parts dept to get a price.

Last edited: