D.I.Y CNC Lathe

Analias

Active User
Registered
I recently built a CNC Router Parts CRP-4848 CNC router table. Having done so, it has whet my appetite for building more tools for working with aluminum, plastic, and steel. To that end, I want a benchtop CNC mill and lathe. Converting a new or used commercial unit (RF-45, G0704, or a Grizzly lathe) would be nice, but in this economy I don't think I can swing the $5K to $7.5K I need to purchase and build what I want, the way I want. I need to be able to tackle this at the $10 to $200/purchase/month range. So, I'm exploring alternatives - notably building it myself. My CNC table can handle aluminum (and probably light steel), but I don't have any tools for turning and so I think the lathe would be first on my list to build.

To be truthful, I know nothing - I am a complete and absolute newbie. Up until this summer, the only tools I owned were a Delta drill press, and enough hand tools to work on the car, computers, electronics, and my ham radio equipment. Other than a new 10" table saw, 15" radial arm saw, and the CNC table not much has changed.

I was watching a video from a well respected custom CNC mill machine maker on CNCZone. I only know his first name as Dave or David. I was surprised to hear him say his beautiful new, seriously cool, CNC mill was built on top of 6" x 1/4" steel square tubing. It got me thinking about building a RF-45 class vertical mill or a 10" x 22" lathe using steel tubing and using 25 mm or 35 mm linear rails for each axis. I have a box of dozen SBG 35 SLL-C linear bearings but need the rails for them.