cutting a large-radius circular band out of steel sheet

Florin Andrei

Registered
Registered
Material is steel sheet (either mild or stainless), perhaps 0.065" thick.

I need to cut a half-circle band, like a large letter C. Outside diameter around 17", inside 15", so the width of the piece is 1". Same question for a full circular band, like the letter O, same diameters, just a full circle instead of half. I guess the technique should be pretty similar.

The edges must look pretty good, warping or notches are not acceptable. The whole piece should remain as flat as the original sheet.

I've done this before with plywood, using a router and a jig. How should I do this when the material is steel? I have some ideas, but I'm pretty new to working with metal, so I'd like to hear first from people more experienced than me.

I have access to a mini-lathe and mini-mill, drill press, and a random assortment of usual simple tools.

Make a simple circle jig that can support an angle grinder. Put a cutoff disc in the angle grinder and go to town. Cut the larger radius first, then change your jig to the smaller radius and you will end up with a donut. Cut it in half for the "C", leave it whole for the "O".

Or, get it burned out or plasma cut at your local steel supplier or higher-end welding shop.

I'd cut it with a fine blade in the jigsaw and use a flap disk on the angle grinder to smooth out any imperfections. Or zip it out on the plasma table in 1/4 the time.

Greg

Given the tools you have available, the best and least cost simple solution I can come up with, using common hand and power tools is to use an Air Nibbler. These are available from Harbor Freight for about $25. I have used mine for 20Ga stainless, and 16Ga (0.063) mild steel. You need a new tool anyway.:whistle:

image_12785.jpg